Meeting Americans.

I awoke because my two roommates (both are from Germany as well and we got well along while I was there) were getting up early and then hurried down to get some of the “free” breakfast. Since I had have difficulties finding my hostel (even though Jinah had sent me two videos that explained how to find it) I did not get much sleep and was really tired and not in the mood to communicate right away.

In the kitchen I met three Americans: AJ, Shai and Ryan and one guy from Germany (so many Germans everywhere!) called Daniel. Since I did not have any plans I joined them – renting bikes and getting soaked through after 20 minutes, because Thursday was the day that a typhoon was supposed to hit Seoul. Never mind, the guys loved it and we had really much fun. It is not like the rain is cold, so getting wet does not really bother one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
When the rain finally stopped for a minute.

Still, we waited until the rain was not so strong anymore and continued our search for the fish market Noryangjin. There you can buy your fish, crabs, shrimp or whatever you want and then go to a little restaurant and let them prepare it for you! Since you probably do not look Asian and speak neither Mandarin nor Korean they will recognize you as a tourist right away. And though I do not want to imply that they used us, I sort of had a feeling that we could have gotten everything way cheaper than we did. But we do this for the experience, right? So, it was a lot of fun, passing different fish, still living animals… and seeing someone eating an octopus alive. Yes, you read it correctly. One of the guys I was hanging out with tried it. And though he survived (it took him about 5 minutes to swallow that thing, and I swear it was still moving) I nearly chocked just watching the whole procedure. If you want to do it, do not try it at the fish market! There are special restaurants, that also serve a specific sauce that should help you swallowing. Why is it so dangerous? Because the octopus (it is still alive guys!) understandably tries to survive and uses his tentacles to adhere to your face – if you are lucky. If not, it adheres to your throat and then you can actually die of this experience. So think twice before doing it.

Anyway. All in all we had a really delicious dinner (and I am normally picky with sea food, so you can believe me!) that was way more expensive than I had anticipated and planned. But it was worth the experience.

Afterwards I really wanted to see more of Seoul, so I urged the guys to join me on my way to the Coffee Street. You could also call it little France, since there is not only a French High School but also many little french restaurants, cafés and boutiques. We drank some expensive, but good coffee (5.000 WON) and then split up. Next stop: Gangnam.

After walking around, we turned back to the Hangang (that is the river in Seoul) to watch the light show at the Bandpodaegyo Bridge. If you have the time, get some street food and something to drink, bring some music along with you and enjoy the show and the view at the skyline of Seoul from 8pm until 9pm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that we started our way back, which took us quite a while. At some point we saw people playing a game similar to volleyball, but using a soccer ball and kicking or using their head to get the ball over the net. The guys joined the local team, while I was sitting at the side, too tired of that day and the only other girl there kept me company.

Leave a Reply

